Cook the Book with Denise & Jenni and Kathy Hester

101_1914I had so much fun during the first cook the book with  Nancie McDermott when we made Sheri Castle’s Watauga County Chicken Stew with Fluffy Dumplings, that I just had to come back for a second helping of Cook the book.  I participated (kinda) in the second edition of Cook the Book with Denise & Jenni on Jan. 9. I had to work that day so I used Kathy’s slow cooker version of the recipe so I could join in the fun. The recipe was Indian-Spiced Red Lentil and Veggie Soup with a bonus recipe for Spicy Cauliflower Po’ Boys. I didn’t make the Po’ Boys but after watching this episode on Blab I sure want to try those sometime.

My soup turned out fantastic and I enjoyed it when I got home from work and then watched the previously recorded show of Denise, Jenni and Kathy as they had fun making the recipes too. Kathy joined Jenni in her NC, kitchen and Denise was in her kitchen in CA and the moderator, Chef Dennis was in Florida (I think) doing his thing to bring them all together via Blab. There is also an open spot for anyone who’s cooking along and wants to pop in to show their dish or just ask questions.  I posted a picture of my bowl of soup on the Facebook page and guess what? I won an autographed copy of Kathy’s book, The Easy Vegan Cookbook!

The next fun Cook the Book event will be hosted in California on Feb 27, by Denise who will be cooking with Jill O’Connor author of Sticky, Chewy, Messy Gooey: Desserts for the Serious Sweet Tooth! Jenni will be cooking along from NC. Hopefully I won’t have to work and will be joining in the fun via Blab with Chef Dennis the moderator.

If you enjoy trying new recipes, and would like to join in the fun of cooking along with Denise & Jenni, and a famous cookbook author, come join their Facebook group for all the details. There will be a different author each month and some months it will be in NC and some CA. There has been a giveaway of a couple autographed books by the featured author each time so far and I’m sure that will continue. All you have to do is cook the recipe and post a picture of your finished dish on the Facebook page. If you don’t have a copy of the book being cooked from, the recipe will be provided to the members of the group so you can cook along.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/935476683205339/

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment