Cooking From Deep Run Roots

A couple months ago I joined a Facebook group called Food52 Cookbook Club. In this group members cook from the book chosen by the members for that particular month. I joined to late join in cooking from Kate McDermott’s Art of Pie but just in time to cook from Vivian Howard’s Deep Run Roots during March. I have enjoyed watching Howard’s A Chef Life on PBS and followed eagerly awaiting her cookbook. When it arrived I didn’t see a lot of recipes I though my family would enjoy, but once I took another look after joining the Food52 cooking club I started finding many to try. I look forward to trying her version of Tomato Pie later in the summer when I can get great ones at our local farmer’s market.

I ended up trying 18 recipes during March and still have many more marked to try in the future. Of the 18 there were only 3 that I probably wouldn’t make again. Some of our favorites were:

Charred Spring Vegetables with Creamy Scallion Dressing and Hushpuppy Croutons. Baked Pimento Cheese and Sausage. Blueberry BBQ Chicken.

Sage Honey-Glazed Pork Tenderloin with Bacon-Roasted Rutabags. Sweet Potato and Turkey Shepherd Pie.

Stewed Collards with Ham Hocks which I then morphed into Creamed Collards with Pickled Collard Stems

Two Great breakfasts  Cripsy Ginger Rice with Leeks Shittakies and a Fried Egg, and Stewed Tomato Shirred Eggs with Ham Chips and Fool Proof Grits

Grits and Greens with Hot Sauce and Pork Rinds.  Spice Rubbed Flank Steak with Cucumber and Charred Onion Relish.  Deviled Eggs.

And for dessert Blueberry Cobbler with a Corn Meal Cookie Crust.

100_2704

Looking forward to continuing watching A Chef’s Life, cooking from Deep Run Roots and maybe even someday eating at one of her and her husband’s two restaurants – Chef and the Farmer and the Boiler Room in Kinston NC. I’m also looking forward to all the other cookbooks to explore in the Food52 Cookbook Club.

Leave a Reply

