Weekends in a French Kitchen Dec.4, 2016

The group of bloggers that were involved in Weekends in a French Kitchen have mostly lost interest in continuing this challenge. One of the administrators of the Facebook page is discontinuing the project for lack of interest. The final recipe schedule was posted for Nov and Dec. Many of those recipes  were ones I just wasn’t interested in cooking. Things like Escargots, Pork Cheek Ravioli, Squab Pie with Foie Gras, Violet Meringues, and Chestnut Veloute. I do have some chestnuts in the freezer so I may give that one a go.  I have decided to go out on my own to continue cooking from A Kitchen in France and will now include Mimi Thorisson’s new cookbook French Country Cooking.

I’ve had my eye on the Oxtail Macaroni Gratin from A Kitchen in France since I first looked through the book and finally found some oxtails at one of my local supermarkets this weekend. The oxtails are cooked in a whole bottle of red wine which is flavored with some spices and herbs. The macaroni is cooked and a bechamel sauce made. Then all this is layered in a baking dish – 1/2 of the meat and its cooking sauce first, followed by 1/2 of the macaroni and then 1/2 of the bechamel, then repeat layers. It says to top with the cheese but the directions didn’t have you save any of the cheese from the bechamel, so I had to use some other cheeses I had on hand for the topping. I also used sour cream instead of creme fraiche.

101_2604

Daughter and I though it was great, son wasn’t a big fan but he did eat two bowls. He’s not crazy about things cooking in wine nor meat in his mac and cheese but he does love oxtails. He usually requests oxtail soup if I’m lucky enough to find them.

If you’d like to try this recipe for yourself and don’t have a copy of A Kitchen in France, the recipe can be found at the following link on Mimi’s blog, Manger: http://mimithorisson.com/2012/08/23/oxtail-macaroni-and-cheese/
Also if you’d like to see what French recipes I decide to try please come back and visit my blog.

Until next time Bon Appetit!

Leave a Reply

