Review: Shinnytaste Fast and Slow

http://images.randomhouse.com/cover/9780553459609?width=125&alt=no_cover_b4b.gif

I love the Skinny Taste blog and checked out her first cookbook from our public library and loved it as well. I enjoyed this one, but not as much as the first. Maybe a personal preference, but there were more recipes that called my name in her first cookbook.

I was eager to get my hands on a copy of this one since it contains slow cooker recipes as well as quick fix ones. Many of the  breakfast recipes were more like ideas than recipes to me.  For instance  stuff on toast.

I did try the Perfect Medium-Rare Roast Beef in the Slow Cooker, but after the suggested time my beef was still very raw in the middle. Then I think I might have gone a bit too long, as once it rested it was done and a bit on the tough side. It had a great flavor though. The gravy was way to thin. I had to double the flour to get it to a thickness a little more than water.  I did shred the left overs and added them and the gravy back in the slow cooked the next day. I cooked it for a few hours till falling apart tender. Then served them on rolls with some Provolone, and it was delicious.

101_2550

Hoping to try a few more of the recipes soon especially some more of the slow cooker ones. There are gorgeous photos though out the book. I love that there is nutritional information for all the recipes.

I received this book from Blogging for Books for my honest review

Save

Leave a Reply

