Review: Victuals by Ronni Lundy

http://images.randomhouse.com/cover/9780804186742?width=125&alt=no_cover_b4b.gif

I thoroughly enjoyed Ronni Lundy taking me on an Appalachian Journey and the recipes included, as it brought back memories of the way I grew up eating and enjoying food in the NC mountains. Besides North Carolina, there are also recipes and stories from Kentucky, West Virginia, Virginia, Tennessee, Georgia and South Carolina. Lundy has a way with words and the stories included here along with the recipes will make your mouth water.

Since I grew up eating many recipes similar to the ones in the this book it speaks to my southern Appalachian heritage. I still love sallet, or a mess of greens with corn bread to soak up that delicious pot likker in the fall, Soup beans and corn bread with chow chow and onions in the winter, Killed Lettuce and corn bread in the spring, and Mountain Green Beans and Taters in the summer also, with corn bread or along side fried chicken and biscuits. If you don’t already know the wonders of these delicious meals you’ll learn about them  in this book.

I learned how to make Leather Britches from my Grandma and mother in law and made them for my family. I enjoyed reading about them in this book. My Grandma often made my sister and I cornmeal mush when we’d visit her and there is a recipe for fried cornmeal mush included in the book.

I also discovered some new and interesting recipe such as Kentucky Kimchi, Kale Potato Cakes and Icebox Green Strawberry Pickles to name a few.

If you enjoy stories with your recipes then this is the book for you.

I received this book from Blogging for Books for my honest review.

Save

5 thoughts on “Review: Victuals by Ronni Lundy

  1. Thanks for a great review Joan. My favorite cookbooks are ones just like this that tell stories about the recipes and the people who created them. I’ll definitely check this one out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

