Weekend in a French Kitchen Sept. 4, 2016

101_2349

I’ve missed several weekends, but I’m finally getting back to my French kitchen weekends. What better way to start back than with a Vegetable Tian. I had to get a little creative with this one. Daughter and I don’t care for eggplant, but I was going to try it anyway, but store didn’t have any. I used some extra zucchini and added yellow squash instead of the eggplant. Didn’t know my garlic had gone bad until I started the dish, so I brushed the pan with olive oil and sprinkled on some garlic powder. Also added more garlic powder where the sliced garlic was called for. I only made a half recipe, so I used an 8×8 pan instead of an 8×12. I got flat leaf parsley just for this recipe and then forgot to put some on when I removed from oven. Daughter and I still enjoyed this dish and it was beautiful with the red from the tomatoes, green from the zucchini and yellow from the other squash. I did used some sprigs of thyme, but omitted the bay leaves since I’m not real fond of their flavor.

If you’d like to join us on our journey check out the Weekends in a French Kitchen Facebook page at the following link: https://www.facebook.com/groups/weekendinafrenchkitchen/

Hope to see you again soon in my weekend French kitchen. ”Tammy

Leave a Reply

