Review: Chrissy Teigen’s Cravings, Favorite Cookbook of 2016

101_2138

I had the opportunity to get this book from blogging for books and passed it up. My first thought was “Oh, no another cookbook from a celebrity who probably can’t even cook. Nothing in this one I’d be interesting in making.” Boy was I wrong! After reading several outstanding reviews for this book and learning that Chrissy even has a foodie blog, I realized I might have made a mistake. Since I had an Amazon gift card I decided to purchase a copy of my own and see what  all the hoopla  was about. One of the best decisions I’ve ever made. I love this book. I’m already made 25 of the recipes with many more marked to try. Almost all of the ones I’ve tried were hits at my house. We didn’t care that much for the meatloaf, but it was a taste preference and not anything to do with the actual recipe.

Also amazing is the stories of the food in this book. Chrissy uses some off color language that I’m not particularly fond of, but in this book it works. She often had me laughing out loud while reading this book. So it’s a fun read as well as to cook from. There is even a chapter of Thai inspired food from her Mom. Haven’t tried any of those recipes yet but if I can get the ingredients I’ll be trying those as well as we enjoy Thai food.

Some of our absolute favorites of the 25 were Sriracha Caesar Salad and dressing, Cobb Salad with Honey Mustard Ranch Dressing, Chinese Chicken Salad with Crispy Won Ton Skins, Roasted Jalapeno and Chroizo Queso, Steak Bites with Melty Blue Cheese Butter, Cheesey Jalapeon Bacon Cornbread, John’s Breakfast Sandwich, Spicy Cajun Sausage Peppers and Cabbage, Cheesy Jalapeno Tuna Casserole with Potato Chip Topping, and Everything Chicken Sandwich Melts. If you’d like to see my reviews and photos of all the recipes I’ve tried from this book check me out on Cookbooker.com where my handle is southerncooker.

Here are just a few pictures of the recipes I’ve tried so far.

 

I’ve added quiet a few new cookbooks to my collection this year and several of them have been outstanding but this one I think has to be my favorite. Looking forward to trying more from this cookbook and hoping she has a second one in the works.

Leave a Reply

