Weekends in a French Kitchen April 17, 2016

101_2133

As I continue my journey with fellow food bloggers cooking through Mimi Thorisson’s book, A Kitchen in France this weekends recipe is Garden Cake. What fun it was to make this cake. I had hoped to find some red bud blossoms to add to my cake but couldn’t find any trees close enough to me that wasn’t hard to get to. It’s been quiet cold here lately, with some freezing temps so flowers were a little harder to find than they should be. I ended up getting dogwood, Rose of Sharon, Peach, Dandelion, and Violets, which I forgot to use. I did remove the flowers and leaves before we ate the cake, even though I know most of the flowers were edible. I added more berries once the flowers were gone. I used blackberries and raspberries for my berries.

101_2129

My daughter assisted me in forming the meringues into circles on the Silpat I used instead of parchment paper. Once baked and cooled the meringues were a bit hard to remove from the Silpat to the wire rack to finish cooling while I made the whipped cream. I had a little crack-age, but was able to hide most of that with the whipped cream.  The cake was quiet tasty as well as pleasing to the eye.

If you’d like to make a garden cake of your own Mimi’s recipe is on her blog, Manger at the following link, where you can also see a photo of her cake if you don’t own the cookbook: http://mimithorisson.com/2012/05/09/garden-cake/

101_2131

Also if you’d like to join in the fun of cooking from this amazing cookbook with us check out the details at the following link: https://weekendsinafrenchkitchen.com or check out the Facebook page at: https://www.facebook.com/groups/weekendinafrenchkitchen/

Please come back and visit me in my weekend French Kitchen.

”Tammy

4 thoughts on “Weekends in a French Kitchen April 17, 2016

Leave a Reply

