Weekends in a French Kitchen April 3, 2016 makeup

101_2126

The recipe for the April 3rd weekends in a French kitchen was Artichoke Souffle. Since we were in a nearby town that has a Trader Joes recently, I looked for some fresh artichokes to make this dish. Since they didn’t have any and I didn’t have any luck any where else I went, I opted for the artichoke hearts in a can. A couple of the employees there recommended them highly. While there I picked up some Comte cheese as well for the souffle. I was all set to make the recipe and came down with a nasty cold. I was finally able to make this recipe tonight.

Once I had my Mise en place and got the bechamel made and cooled it went quickly. I loved how nice they looked straight out of the oven, puffed high and golden brown. The canned Trader Joe artichoke hearts made it take less time, since I didn’t have to cook my artichokes and remove the choke part. Not sure if I sacrificed any taste by going that route, but I thought they tasted amazing.

I decided to make a half recipe and baked them in my  8 once Le Creuset mini cocottes. I ended up with three. Hubby and son wouldn’t touch them so I ended up eating two for my supper. They were delicious.

101_2125 Ready for the oven

Here’s a link to the recipe on Mimi’s blog, Manger:
http://mimithorisson.com/my-recipes/artichokesouffle-2/
Don’t be scared of making your own souffles, if I can make them so can you.

If you’d like to join us in this awesome French cooking adventure, cooking our way through A Kitchen in France by Mimi Thorisson, check out the details at the following link:
https://weekendsinafrenchkitchen.com

”Tammy

2 thoughts on “Weekends in a French Kitchen April 3, 2016 makeup

  1. They look fantastic Joan. Sorry to hear you got a cold, but at least the canned artichokes let you wait to make the recipe. I use them frequently in salads and spreads.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Nancy. This cold sure is a lingering and hubby seems to have it even worse. Son finally seems to be over it but then again he had it first and is also younger. Trader Joes is the first place I’ve ever seen the canned ones that weren’t marinated. They were fantastic. I’m sure they’d be great for dips and such.

      Like

Leave a Reply

