Weekends in a French Kitchen Mar. 13, 2016

”Tammy

This weeks recipe from Mimi Thorisson’s A Kitchen in France is Beef Cheek Stew.

We have a butcher shop in an adjoining county that has a Facebook page. I decided to contact them to see if they had beef cheeks. They messaged me back the next day of my question that they did, but only frozen, and only in 60 pound boxes. I replied that that was just a little more than I needed. Wow! what would someone do with 60 pounds of beef cheeks? I found after searching online that a brisket is a good substitute for beef cheeks so decided to go that route.

This stew is a little different that most I’ve made before, as you marinate the veggies, beef,  a bouquet garni, grated zest of 1/2 lemon, and piment d’Espelette, with a whole bottle of red wine in the fridge overnight. I used smoked paprika instead of the piment d’Eselette. I used a leek leaf to hold my bouquet garni, then tied it up with another strip of leek. I used thyme, rosemary, parsley and chives in mine. Instead of over night I did mine for about 5 hours and then continued with the recipe since I forgot to start it the night before.  After marinating you remove the beef from the wine, then the veggies from the wine. After browning the meat you add it back to the pot, along with the veggies and wine and some chopped tomatoes.

Mimi says her children like small macaroni in theirs when they eat it, but she prefers potatoes. I made the Potato Pie with Comte Cheese at the same time so daughter and I ate it with ours. Daughter actually preferred the pie over the stew ,but said the stew was good too. Son in law chose to eat his with mashed potatoes and cornbread and hubby just ate the stew and cornbread.  We all enjoyed the stew, even son who doesn’t like many things cooked with wine. The meat was very tender.

Hope you’ll join me in my French Kitchen next time.

To join us in cooking from A Kitchen in France or to find out more information about out cooking group join us on Facebook at: https://www.facebook.com/groups/weekendinafrenchkitchen
or visit the website at: http://weekendsinafrenchkitchen.com

Leave a Reply

