Weekend in a French Kitchen Nov 8th

”Tammy

You may notice that I have only one date on this post and it’s been being two. Well the French Hens and Chickadee got together and decided that cooking through two books at one time was a little overwhelming, so we are only formally cooking through A Kitchen in France by Mimi Thorisson. Our post days will now be on Sunday and the last Sunday in each month will be a cooks choice day. That means we can cook from the Cafe Boulud Cookbook, any other French Cookbook,  make a recipe we missed from Mimi’s book, or whatever as long as it’s French related.

This weekend’s recipe from Mimi’s book is Cepe and Parsley Tartlets. This is a delicious mushroom tart and very easy to make especially if you do like I did and use store bought frozen puff pastry. Of course I couldn’t find the type of mushrooms called for, (Cepe), so I used one of my families favorites baby bellas. Hubby son and I all agreed this was delicious and I know I’ll be making it again. Not much work involved at all. I put my puff pastry in fridge to thaw before I left for work. When I returned I just had to bake it. Loved the idea of pricking the pastry with a fork and putting another sheet pan on top to keep it from over puffing. While it was baking in the oven I sauteed my mushrooms and purple onion, which I subbed for the shallot, in the butter. When the pastry was done I piled on the mushrooms, sprinkled with the chopped parsley and drizzled on a little olive oil. Perfect for a meatless Monday Supper.

101_1780

If you’d like to join us in cooking though A Kitchen in France or want to see what others thought of this visit: http://weekendinafrenchkitchen.com/

One thought on “Weekend in a French Kitchen Nov 8th

Leave a Reply

