Review: Giada De Laurentis Happy Cooking

http://images.randomhouse.com/cover/9780804187923?width=125&alt=no_cover_b4b.gif

I was excited to get a copy of this book since I have enjoyed Giada’s recipes in the past. In this book she strays a little from her Italian roots to include many different types of recipes. These are recipes she says helps her balance indulgences with clean eating and helping her to keep things easy. This is the way I often like to cook as well.

This book is jam packed with recipes, tips, photos, and information about recipes, health, food and other things. Sometimes it gets a little too busy, with several recipes, and side bars on one page.  Other than that little thing I’m loving this book. I love the chapter on breakfast as I’m always looking for healthy and interesting breakfast ideas.

I made two of the breakfast recipes and enjoyed them both. The first was Ricotta Toast with Strawberries. Since strawberries aren’t in season at the moment I took her tip to use seasonal fruit and substituted apples. I ate this several times and can’t wait to try it with other fruits.

Ricotta Toast with Strawberries (apples)
Ricotta Toast with Strawberries (apples)

Next I made Eggs Cacio e Pepe. Eggs, Pecorino Romano, Black Pepper and Greek Yogurt on toast made for a delicious and filling breakfast.

Eggs Cacio e Pepe
Eggs Cacio e Pepe

I was delighted to see a spiralizer recipe for Zucchini Spaghetti with Sun Gold Tomato Sauce and had to try it. I did omit the star anise since I’m not partial to it’s flavor. I used the option given to use cherry tomatoes instead of sun gold. Giada says while she’d never give up pasta this is a good alternative  to use occasionally and she’s right it was delicious.

Zucchini Spaghetti with Sun Gold Tomato Sauce
Zucchini Spaghetti with Sun Gold Tomato Sauce

Not only are there many recipes for clean and healthy eating but she also includes recipe for weekends and holidays as well as some sweets and treats. I see many more great recipes from this book in my future.

I received this book from Blogging for Books for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

