Weekend in a French Kitchen Oct 2015 Cook’s Choice

”Tammy

The French Hens declared any month with 5 weekends a Cooks Choice weekend. On that weekend we can choose to cook from another French cookbook, make any other recipe from either A Kitchen in France or Cafe Boulud or make up a recipe we missed earlier from one of those books. I decided to try Mimi’s Pumpkin Soup from page 157 in a French Kitchen.

101_1773

I found that the recipe is also on line at the following link if you don’t have the book and would like to try it:

http://www.instyle.com/news/your-new-favorite-fall-recipe-pumpkin-soup-mimi-thorrison

At first I wasn’t sure I was going to like this soup as I kept comparing it to one my daughter makes which we adore. After swirling in the walnut, sour cream, chive mixture and dipping our rolls in the bowl daughter and I  decided it was quiet delicious.

101_1772

We still prefer the one she makes from Crescent Dragonwagon, but I would eat this one again with the parsnips to see if it makes a difference.  I did use sour cream instead of Creme fraiche. A couple other substitutions I made were – purple onion for the shallots, and carrot instead of parsnip. The grocery store I went to this week didn’t have parsnips and I didn’t want to have to stop at another store to check. Hubby got me several pumpkins from a neighbour who grew them and I made my own vegetable stock.

Of course hubby and son-in-law wouldn’t touch pumpkin soup so daughter and I had this as a first course and I also made meatloaf, mashed potatoes, green beans and rolls which made the boys happy.

Until next time; if you’d like to join us on this French cooking journey, cooking from A Kitchen in France by Mimi Thorisson and/or Cafe Boulud Cookbook by David Boulud and Dorie Greenspan, for the details please visit http://weekendinafrenchkitchen.com/

While there be sure to check out what the other bloggers and non bloggers alike have been whipping up in their weekend French kitchens. You don’t even have to have  a blog to join in just a love of trying new recipes. We also have a Facebook page where those participating can join in the fun.

Leave a Reply

