Weekend in a French Kitchen Oct. 17 & 18

”Tammy

The Cafe Boulud recipe for this weekend was Jerusalem Artichoke Soup with Sage Croutons. While this sounds like the perfect fall soup I couldn’t find Jerusalem artichokes so I decided to skip this recipe for the time being.

101_1750

I made Mimi’s recipe from A Kitchen in France last weekend. I just couldn’t wait since I’d gotten a big box of local apples from the apple house. The Apple Tart with Orange Flour Water was very good despite the fact I made a few switches. Since I can’t find orange flour water in our little neck of the woods, I decided to do what I did the last time I made one of Mimi’s recipes that called for it and substituted orange liqueur. The only thing was my orange liqueur was blue (Blue curaçao) and it turned the cooked apples green.

What happens when cooked apples are introduce to Blue curaçao.
What happens when cooked apples are introduce to Blue curaçao.

My daughter commented that it looked like a science experiment gone bad but it didn’t affect the taste. I also forgot to get some raw brown sugar so I just used regular brown sugar.

You do need to plan ahead when making this tart as the dough needs to rest in the fridge at least one hour or overnight, which is what I did. While the dough was easy to make it wanted to crumble a bit when I tried rolling it out so I ended up having to press some of it into the tart pan and then smooth out a bit.

Tart dough in pan ready for filling.
Tart dough in pan ready for filling
Apple Tart
Apple Tart

As usual if you’d like to visit the other bloggers links to see how they did this week or to join us in cooking for either or both of these books visit: http://weekendinafrenchkitchen.com/

I’ve already made next weekends Boulud recipe which contains some delicious chicken and am looking forward to Mimi’s Butternut Gratin next weekend. Be sure to come back and see how they both turned out.

One thought on “Weekend in a French Kitchen Oct. 17 & 18

Leave a Reply

