Review: The Outer Banks Cookbook by Elizabeth Wiegand

I checked this book out at our local library a couple years ago before we went to the Outer Banks on vacation. I copied a few recipes to try while there. Again this year I checked the book out but took it with us when we went. After reading it from cover to cover and trying several more recipes I decided to buy a copy of my own while down there. I wished I’d gone to an event in Buxton while we were there and got her to sign my copy. Maybe next year if we go and she’s there.

If you love the Outer Banks then this is the book for you. There is so much interesting reading as well as wonderful recipes in this book. While there are lots of seafood recipes there are also recipes for poultry, desserts and other things. Some of the recipes we enjoyed last year were Crab Eggs Benedict and Crabmeat Omlette.

This year we enjoyed:

Crab in Sweet Potato Baskets
Crab in Sweet Potato Baskets
Canadian Hole Breakfast
Canadian Hole Breakfast
Crabmeat Canapes
Crabmeat Canapes
Shrimp & Grits
Shrimp & Grits

Every recipe we tried was a hit. For the shrimp and grits I purchased some local made andouille sausage at the Weeping Radish Brewery and of course I got great local shrimp at one of the seafood markets. I also purchased a jar of Fig Jam to bring home to make one of the Fig Cakes from the book. I have many more recipes marked to try both here at home and on our next Outer Banks Vacation, hopefully in the fall of 2016.

Leave a Reply

