Review: Michael Symon’s 5 in 5 For Every Season

http://images.randomhouse.com/cover/9780804186568?width=125&alt=no_cover_b4b.gif

I’m always on the look out for quick and easy, but tasty work night meals and this book definitely fits that description. I have Michael’s other 5 in 5 book and really enjoyed cooking from it and this one seems even better. I like that that this book is divided into Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter and Holidays. Another great thing about this one is that it has photos of many of the finished dishes. Symon uses fresh ingredients in this book which makes for healthier eating.

I enjoy cooking more involved recipes on the weekends.  During the week I come home tired, but still want something healthy and tasty that doesn’t have a long list of ingredients. I know I’ll be using this one often for just that purpose.

I made the Grilled Chicken Tenders “Buffalo Style” in my grill pan. I loved the celery salad with the tenders. This was even good the next day cold for my lunch.

Grilled Chicken Tenders "Buffalo Style"
Grilled Chicken Tenders “Buffalo Style”

I also made Grilled Cheese with Havarti & Apple which was a great fall supper, along with some soup.

Grilled Cheese with Havarti & Apple
Grilled Cheese with Havarti & Apple

Another recipe I tried and we loved was Mushroom Philly Cheesesteaks.

Mushroom Philly Cheesesteaks
Mushroom Philly Cheesesteaks

Finally I made Spicy Beef Tacos with Fresh Salsa. These were really spicy but oh so delicious.

Spicy Beef Tacos with Fresh Salsa
Spicy Beef Tacos with Fresh Salsa

I have so many more recipes marked to try in this book. I highly recommend this to anyone who wants to put delicious, tasty, meals on the table without a lot of fuss.

I want to thank Blogging for Books for providing me with this book for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

