Review: Le French Oven by Hillary Davis

101_1537

This is a wonderful book that I enjoyed from the minute I opened it up and started reading the introduction. The authors story about her grandmother’s kitchen and her beloved Dutch Oven was a fun read. The book also contains a brief history of the Dutch Oven as well as information on several French Oven Brands. There is information on how to choose a French Oven and how to care for it as well.

The recipes included are for many sizes of French Ovens as well as the mini cocottes. I was delighted for find two chapters devoted to the mini cocottes as I had used some of my safety cash points where I work to get some Le Creuset minis recently. One Chapter is for appetizers and one for desserts.  There are also several chapters for the larger sizes of French Ovens.

Since my book arrived just before leaving on our Outer Banks Vacation I took both the book and the mini cocottes with me. I had hopes of making the chocolate fondue and Butterscotch Pots de Creme while there, but time got away from me. I do hope to make both of those soon though. I did made the Shrimp Cocktail with Spicy Dipping Sauce for hubby, daughter and I and we loved it. The sauce is amazing. The recipe guides you though making the sauce which turned out perfect.

Shrimp Cocktail with Spicy Dipping Sauce
Shrimp Cocktail with Spicy Dipping Sauce

If you enjoy photos with your recipes you’ll love this book as it has many gorgeous photos of both finished dishes as well as scenes around France. Also if you love French food then Hillary Davis is an expert.

Some other recipes I can’t wait to try are Fondue Mac ‘N’ Cheese, Alsatian Beer and Munster Soup, Super Creamy Goat Cheese Vegetable Lasagna, Mushroom and Fresh Herbes de Provence Risotto, Simply Delicious Roasted Vegetables, Spicy Chicken A La Diable With Mustard Sauce, No Machine Needed Chocolate Ice Cream, and Vanilla Cheesecakes with Fresh Strawberry Compote. Of course there are many more delicious sounding recipes included and I know I’ll have fun trying them out.

Thanks so much to the publisher for providing me with this book for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

