Review: The New Sugar & Spice by Samantha Seneviratne

http://images.randomhouse.com/cover/9781607747468?width=125&alt=no_cover_b4b.gif

Want to wake up your taste buds with bold flavors? Are you looking for new ways to spice up your desserts? Then this is the book you’re going to fall in love with.

I was very intrigued when I realized there was a chapter in this book called Peppercorn & Chile. I love cracked black pepper in and on many foods and am always wondering what else I can try it in. I hope to make the Chile-Chocolate Truffles and Sweet Fig & Black Pepper Scones really soon.

There are also chapters on Cinnamon, Nutmeg, Clove & Cardamon, Vanilla, Ginger, and Savory Herbs & Spices. If you enjoy reading your cookbooks as well as cooking from them you’ll be delighted to find some interesting information on the spices used and maybe even discover some information about desserts you may not be familiar with. For me it was the Indonesian Spiced Layer Cake, Swedish Cream Buns, True Love Cake, and New Love Cake. I also learned about some new ingredients I was not familiar with.

For my first recipe I decided to make the Gingerbread Pancakes since I already had all the ingredients on hand. If you enjoy gingerbread then you need to try these delicious pancakes. We had ours with pancake syrup but I’d love to try then again with the suggestion in the book of topping them with apple sauce.

Gingerbread Pancakes
Gingerbread Pancakes

I’m looking forward to more bold flavored desserts from this book.

Thanks to  Blogging for Books for providing me with this book for my honest review.

For more information please visit: http://www.randomhouse.com/book/241403/the-new-sugar-and-spice-by-samantha-seneviratne

2 thoughts on “Review: The New Sugar & Spice by Samantha Seneviratne

  1. This cookbook sounds like it is right up my alley!! I put this on my wish list. I have been wanting more information and ways to use Spices into my cooking and these sure are not boring. I checked out the inside on Amazon and there are a lot of recipes I would love to try.

    Like

Leave a Reply

