Cookbook Review: Fried Chicken by Rebecca Lang

http://images.randomhouse.com/cover/9781607747246?width=125&alt=no_cover_b4b.gif

While I don’t fry chicken often I do like to do it occasionally and my family always enjoys it when I do. I love trying new versions of fried chicken and this book is filled with delicious and often very different than ones I’ve ever tried before. There are mouth watering photos of many of the versions. In the introduction there is a story of the history of fried chicken and the south is said to have one of the strongest fried chicken traditions in the United States. It just so happens that’s where I’m from so I’ve had quiet a few fried chicken dinners in my time. There is lots of useful information for those new to frying chicken in the introduction. The book is divided into three chapters: Skillet Fried, Deep Fried, and Combination Fried.

I gave the book to my son and told him to pick out a recipe for us to try first. He came back with three marked: Homemade Orange Chicken, Saigon Street Wings, and Tennessee Hot Chicken. While they all sound good, and eventually I hope to try them all, I went with the Orange Chicken first. I love Orange Chicken that I’ve eaten in Chinese restaurants but have never tried making my own.  The author suggests you serve it over steamed rice. I made some brown rice and we had it over that. This was very good and both my son and I enjoyed it very much.

Orange Chicken
Orange Chicken

Some of the other recipes that caught my eye and went on my to try list are Tangy Fried Chicken with Dijon, Pickle-Brined Thighs, Beer-battered Chicken Sandwich, Korean-style Fried Chicken with Gochujang Sauce, Latin Fried Chicken with Smoky Ketchup, and Sage and Apple Brined Chicken. Needless to say there are many more interesting versions included inside this ode to fried chicken including one for real southern buttermilk fried chicken, which is how I usually fry my chicken, although I’ve never had it with tomato gravy and there is a recipe for that too. If you’re looking for a healthy cookbook then move along, but if you’d like to splurge occasionally and try some great fried chicken recipes then this is the book for you.

More Info

Author Bio

I received this book from Blogging for Books for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

