Weekend in a French Kitchen Aug. 15 & 16

”Tammy

Lacquered Chicken
Lacquered Chicken

The Aug. 15 recipe from Cafe Boulud Cookbook by Daniel Boulud and Dorie Greenspan was Lacquered Chicken with Noodle Salad (p. 234). This recipe is from the le voyage chapter in the book which says they are recipes from lands far and near. This particular recipe has an Asian twist with sesame oil, ginger, soy sauce, orange juice and zest.  Instead of a whole chicken cut up that was called for I decided to do legs and thighs, since my family prefers dark meat chicken. I actually made mine a day late. We all agreed the chicken was delicious. Daughter and I were the only ones who would eat the noodle salad though. We thought it was delicious too and went great with the chicken. I did have to omit the carrot from the salad since when I went to get a carrot from my veggie drawer I realized they were not good. The carrot would have helped liven up the salad with a bit of color since the leeks, cucumber, celery and noodles are a bit on the white and light green side. I liked that some of the marinade for the chicken is boiled to add to the noodle salad.

Noodle Salad
Noodle Salad

Hubby won’t eat chicken so I decided to throw a southern twist to our French supper by cooking some green beans  which a neighbour shared with us from their garden, fried some yellow squash, and made cornbread for hubby.

Supper is served
Supper is served

The August 16 recipe from A Kitchen in France by Mimi Thorisson was Pistachio Sabayon with Strawberries and Meringues (p. 144). Since our local strawberries are long gone and I didn’t have pistachio paste I decided to save this recipe for maybe next summer.

If you’d like to see how the other bloggers faired this week or to join in our weekend French cooking journey check out the following site: http://weekendinafrenchkitchen.com/  Hope you’ll check back next weekend to see what I’ve made.

3 thoughts on “Weekend in a French Kitchen Aug. 15 & 16

  1. Your chicken looks amazing and while I think the carrot would’ve added some color to your salad, it doesn’t add a ton of flavor so I’m sure you got the full gist of the dish!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

