Weekend in a French Kitchen July 25 and 26, 2015

”Tammy

This first recipe for this weekend was Mango, Kiwi, and Coconut Custard Tart from The Cafe Boulud Cookbook which I decided not to make. I’m hoping to make this one maybe at a later time since I had such a busy week and weekend. I did however make Mimi’s recipe Red Berry Barquettes From a Kitchen In France. This was a lovely desert for a hot summer night.

Red Berry Barquettes
Red Berry Barquettes

Even though this recipe doesn’t take a lot of time or effort, you do need to plan ahead a bit for this one. The dough has to rest in the fridge for at least an hour, which I did, to overnight, which would have been even better.

dough ball ready for fridge
dough ball ready for fridge

Then after rolling and cutting out the dough and putting into the pans, it has to be placed in the freezer for another 30 minutes before baking.  I wasn’t able to roll mine out as suggested, but instead patted in into my tart-let pans since I didn’t have Barquette molds.

ready for the freezer
ready for the freezer

I wasn’t able to find cranberry jelly so I substituted red current jelly since Mimi suggests using red currents as one of the red berries. While I could find the jelly, no fresh red currents in site in my local markets. For my berries I used strawberries and raspberries. Finally after baking and cooling, the jelly and some water which is heated, is brushed on the bases of the shells and also on the fresh berries after they are also in the shells.  Finally you get to dig in and they were delicious.

If you’d like to see how the three French Hens, Chickadee, and the rest of the bloggers did with their dishes check out the links at http://weekendinafrenchkitchen.com/ There is also information there if you’d like to grab a copy of either or both of these great books and join us as we spend our weekends in France.

6 thoughts on “Weekend in a French Kitchen July 25 and 26, 2015

  1. I used strawberries and raspberries as well, and was so happy with that, they were delicious. I made my dough on Sunday and then got side-tracked and life took over so I finished it all off today and I have to say that the dough with that extra stint in the frig time did splendidly well. Very easy to work with, so that was nice. Yours look beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

