Review: The Broad Fork by Hugh Acheson

http://images.randomhouse.com/cover/9780385345026?width=125&alt=no_cover_b4b.gif

I love it when a book comes into my possession and even at first glance it beckons me into the kitchen to get cooking. This is one of those books. It’s the perfect book filled with inspiring recipes to use up vegetables and fruits for every season. It’s not a vegetarian book though as it helps you pair up those veggies and fruits to give more life to the other ingredients including meats, poultry and seafood.

The book is divided into chapters of fall, winter, spring and summer. It will help you decide what to make with produce you find at the farmers markets and maybe even your own garden. When the book arrived I immediately turned to summer since that’s the season we’re in now. Almost every recipe begin to entice me to visit the farmers market and start cooking. After doing just that I decided to make Crisp Toasted Bagel, Fromage Blanc, Tomato, Sea Salt and Basil for mine and hubby’s Sunday Breakfast. They were delicious. I did use cream cheese instead of the cheese called for since I couldn’t find it. The heirloom tomatoes I got at the Farmers market were fantastic with the cream cheese and everything bagels and other ingredients.

breakfast is served
breakfast is served

Next I made Buttered Roasted Summer Squash with Basil which was so good. Loved the way the hot cast iron skillet begin to sizzle the squash as soon as they were tossed in.

Butter Roasted Summer Squash
Butter Roasted Summer Squash

Finally I made Tomato, Okra, and Corn Maque Choux and served it over rice as suggested. It was fantastic. I did use sour cream instead of cream fraiche since it was only a tablespoon and I already had sour cream.

Supper is served
Supper is served

There are so many more recipe I want to try from every season so this book is one to get a work out all year round. There are great photos through out the book as well. So if you enjoy feasting with your eyes as well as your mouth you’re in for a treat with this book.

More Info

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review with my own honest opinion.

Leave a Reply

