July 12, 2015 Weekend In a French Kitchen

”Tammy

We’re into week two in cooking from the Cafe Bouloud Cookbook and A Kitchen in France. I decided not to make this weekend’s Bouloud recipe, Daniel’s Chilled Spring Pea Soup, since my local farmers market has already quit selling peas. I know I could probably find fairly decent peas in my grocery store, but family isn’t that fond of peas to start with, and they also aren’t very into chilled soups. I do enjoy chilled soups and daughter loves peas so maybe I’ll try Mimi’s version since that is the July 26 recipe, and her and her husband will probably come eat Sunday supper with us.

I did try Mimi’s recipe for this week – Langoustines with Armagnac. I had to make a few substitutions though. Couldn’t find either Armagnac nor Langoustines so I used shrimp and brandy. Mimi suggests head on shrimp if you can’t get langoustines, but those weren’t available to me either. I made these one night when it was just hubby and I. We had it with corn on the cob and hush puppies (loved by hubby). The cooking liquid would have been great with some crusty bread which I forgot to purchase, but it was also good to just drink, which I did.

Langoustines with Armagnac
Langoustines with Armagnac

Please forgive the bad picture. The power went off just as I was getting ready to remove the shrimp from the oven and stayed off just long enough for us to finish eating. I prepared my shrimp in a cast iron skillet and instead of switching to a baking dish just put that into the oven. We loved the flavor  the white wine and brandy, with a few other ingredients gave to the shrimp. I couldn’t get my brandy to flame, but it was delicious anyway.

Stay tuned for next weekends picks of Andrew Carmellini’s Bow Tie Pasta with Tomato, Arugula, and Mozzarella from Cafe Bouloud and Mimi’s Cherry Clafoutis. Also if you’d like to join us anytime from cooking from either or both of these delightful books check it out at http://weekendinafrenchkitchen.com/

If you’d like to see how everyone else’s turned out check out the links here: http://weekendinafrenchkitchen.com/2015/07/12/lyl-mimis-langoustines-with-armagnac/

Also if you’d like to read the experiences of those who made the Pea Soup check the links out here: http://weekendinafrenchkitchen.com/2015/07/11/lyl-daniels-chilled-spring-pea-soup/

8 thoughts on “July 12, 2015 Weekend In a French Kitchen

  1. I couldn’t get mine to flame either. I made half a recipe as it was just Mark and I so maybe because there was so little liquor that was the reason, not sure. Your shrimp look lovely, in the dark or not…shrimp look lovely to me always!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. TIIINY little flame for us, but I sure wanted it to be more dramatic! 🙂 Good call on the cast-iron … that’s exactly the conclusion I came to after making it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I was all ready to bake my shrimp too but they were without the shells and it seemed like overkill for my already cooked little specimens but I had everything in an oven-ready skillet too! No need to transfer to a baking pan! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

