Review: Milk Bar Life

http://images.randomhouse.com/cover/9780770435103?width=125&alt=no_cover_b4b.gif

Milk Bar Life by Christina Tosi is filled with great photos and interesting stories about each recipe. If you’re looking for a serious or healthy cookbook then this book probably isn’t for you. On the other hand, if you’re looking for a fun book with great photos, an occasional splurge, or a fun read, then it’s one you’ll enjoy.

I was delighted to see a recipe for cornmeal mush in this book. I grew up eating mush at my grandmas and loved it. In the book the author says cornmeal mush is cooked, molded, sliced thin and then pan fried. My grandma just cooked it and then served it with bowls, often topped with either butter or milk.

There are lots of interesting and often unusual recipes like tang toast and fish cooked in pickle juice in this book. I’m planning of making the Hanky-Pankies later this week – ground beef, sausage, velveeta and Swiss melted on rye bread. I’m also looking forward to trying Kimchi Quesadillas, Banana Cookies, Chicken Puffs, Peanut Butter No-Bakes, Haute Dogs, and Party Nachos. I’ll try to update with some of the photos of my finished dishes soon.

Hanky-Pankies
Hanky-Pankies

The Hanky-Pankies were very good. I did have a problem finding the Party Rye bread so I just used regular sized rye.

While this might not be a book I’ll cook from often, it’s still an interesting read and a book I’ll turn to when I want to have a little fun in the kitchen.

Author Bio

I received this book from Blogging for Books for my honest review.

One thought on “Review: Milk Bar Life

Leave a Reply

