Review: Cooking Light Lighten Up, America

On my first trip to Ollies I found this book for an amazing price. I’ve been trying to eat healthier and thought this book would help me find recipes even my son and hubby would enjoy. Foods included in this book are ones you’ll often find travelling across America at fairs, festivals and local eating places. While some of the recipes are a little lighter on calories than their counter parts sometimes the serving sizes are impossibly small to be satisfying. For instance the grinder which I’ve never had calls for two top split hot-dog buns to serve 4 people. Really now that’s only a couple bites. The filling on the other hand would easily fill eight of the buns instead of two. I made these and we had one bun each instead of half a bun and I had enough filling for five more which son and I ate over several days for our lunches. I generously filled the buns and topped with a 1/4 cup of part skim mozzarella  before toasting and son decided to try some with low fat cheddar which he liked even better.

On the other hand the Tex-Mex Migas were very filling and a reasonable serving size. They were delicious as well.

I also made the Butter Crunch Lemon Bars. To lighten them up you use one percent cottage cheese which is processed in a food processor to make it smooth. They are very lemony and a nice size for a treat, 1/12 of an eight by eight pan. Very good and you’d never suspect they were made with cottage cheese.

Other recipes I’ve tried so far are the Reuben Sandwich which hubby and son loved and I enjoyed as well. I did have trouble finding low sodium corned beef though and ended up using some that didn’t have a real high sodium count, but probably more that the one used in the book.

Garlic Parsley Steak Fries were a hit with all of my family and they did indeed go great with grilled steak and a salad for a nice meal.

I also made three more of the breakfast recipes. The first being  Savory Egg Muffins which were good but two small ones just weren’t that filling.

Next up was Egg and Cheese on a Roll, which I lightened up even more by using a whole grain English Muffin and cooking spray instead of oil for scrambling the egg. I’ve never cared for ketchup on my eggs but it worked on this muffin along with the addition of some hot sauce.

Finally, Peach and Blueberry Pancakes which we actually had for supper. Even hubby enjoyed them and he normally doesn’t care for cooked blueberries.

There are more recipes I have marked to try soon. Several I have marked for our next trip to the Outer Banks – Baked Clams, Crab Cakes with Cajun Remoulade, Cioppino,  and Beer-Steamed Clams and Mussels.

Leave a Reply

