Review: Seven Spoons by Tara O’Brady

http://images.randomhouse.com/cover/9781607746379?height=450&alt=no_cover_b4b.gif

I wasn’t familiar with the blog by the same name as this book, but know I’m now going to have to check it out. This book is as much fun to read as cook from and it doesn’t hurt that it also contains gorgeous photos of many of the finished dishes. I found it interesting that the author took all the photos in her own home. This is one of those cookbooks that makes you want to try so many of its recipes. I enjoy reading the little blurbs before each recipe and the way many of the recipes are written makes you feel as if Tara is right there with you guiding you as you cook.

For my first recipe since I had all the ingredients already in the house, I decided to make Dipper Eggs with Cheese-Fried Toast Soldiers and boy am I glad I did as it was delicious.

Dipper Eggs With Cheese-Fried Toast Soldiers
Dipper Eggs With Cheese-Fried Toast Soldiers

Next up was Soused Tomatoes so I could made the Savory Steel-Cut Oats with Cheese and Spinach. These tomatoes take a bit of time but they are so worth it and I loved the Oats. I don’t care for sweet oatmeal and was delighted when I came across this recipe. It’s also handy that she gives sweet variations since hubby loves it like that. He decided on the maple syrup and cream and he loved his as well.

Soused Tomatoes
Soused Tomatoes
Savory Steel-Cut Oats with Cheese and Spinach and a sweet Variation
Savory Steel-Cut Oats with Cheese and Spinach and a sweet Variation

The star of our Sunday supper was Bee-Stung Fried Chicken. I just love the name of this one. We really enjoyed the chicken but my family said they still prefer our southern fried chicken for the most part.

Bee-Stung Fried Chicken
Bee-Stung Fried Chicken

We love Colcannon so I knew I’d have to try the Baked Irish Mash which sounded similar. While quiet delicious we prefer our regular Colcannon.

Baked Irish Mash
Baked Irish Mash

Finally for dessert I made the Whole Wheat Peanut Butter Cookies which were quiet good. We enjoyed the crunchy peanut butter in these.

Whole Wheat Peanut Butter Cookies
Whole Wheat Peanut Butter Cookies

As you can see this book is filled with inspiring recipes and there are so many more I have marked to try including Blackberry Buttermilk Whole Grain Scones, Mushrooms and Greens with Toast, Clams and Orzo, Brussels Sprout and Hazelnut Salad, and Vietnamese Coffee Ice Cream to name a few.

More Info

Author Bio

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

Leave a Reply

