Reivew: Genius Recipes

http://images.randomhouse.com/cover/9781607747970?height=450&alt=no_cover_b4b.gif

I love the Food52 website, so I knew I wanted to get my hands on this cookbook, and I’m thrilled I did. This is one of those books that make you want to cook all the recipes. There are recipes by many famous chefs and cooks. From Julia Child, Dorie Greenspan, Nigella, Michael Ruhlman, Marcella Hazan, Judy Rogers, Crooks Corner, and Roy Finamore,  to name a few. Unknown cooks and chefs are also represented here. There are great photos throughout the book. I think there is one or more for every recipe. While it’s true that you can find some of these recipes on the Food52 website, (not all though),  it’s wonderful to have them in this handy book, that you can hold in your hands, enjoy reading and cooking from at whim.

I couldn’t wait to get cooking when my book arrived and the next morning I had Fried Eggs with Wine Vinegar from Roger Verge. These were delicious and reminded me a bit of beloved devilled eggs.

Fried Eggs with Wine Vinegar
Fried Eggs with Wine Vinegar

After a trip to the grocery store I made my husband and I Current Cottage Cheese Pancakes from Deborah Madison. Currents are a bit hard for me to find in my area so I used the option to substitute raisins and used golden ones which I had on hand. I put confectioners’ sugar on both of ours and squeezed a bit of lemon juice on mine and hubby had maple syrup on his. We loved these pancakes.

Current Cottage Cheese Pancakes
Current Cottage Cheese Pancakes

Next up was Grilled Pork Burgers from Suzanne Goin. I choose not to do the entire experience and skipped the Aioli and Romesco. I hope to try them again with the whole nine yards. We loved them although son-in-law found them a bit spicy. He manned the grill though and did them perfectly.

Grilled Pork Burgers
Grilled Pork Burgers

Finally for dessert Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies from Kim Boyce. These are a bit healthier than your normal chocolate chip cookie. Delicious almost straight from the oven and still heavenly after completely cooling.

Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies
Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Tomorrow night I have plans for Meatballs from Rao’s along with Marcella Hazan’s Tomato Sauce with Onion and Butter over angel hair pasta. I also have ingredients for Virginia Willis’s Devilled Eggs and Garlic Green Beans from Penelope Casas. Next weekend I have hopes for Grilled Pizza from Al Forno and Strawberry Lemon Sorbet from River Cafe. My list of recipes keeps getting longer. I agree with the editor of this book Kristen Miglore that these recipes are truly Genius!

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

More Info

2 thoughts on “Reivew: Genius Recipes

  1. Joan, so happy to have found your blog! I, too, enjoy Food52. Thanks for this review. Those fried eggs with wine vinegar sound like something we would love.

    Like

Leave a Reply

