Review: Bobby Deen’s Everyday Eats

Bobby Deen’s Everyday Eats
Paperback 2014
ISBN: 978-0-8041-7716-0

I got this book sometime ago from paperback swap. When I first got it I made the Whole Wheat Sesame Noodles and they were very good.

Whole Wheat Sesame Noodles
Whole Wheat Sesame Noodles

I shelved the book and then pretty much forgot about it. Now that I’m trying to loose some weight I have been pulling some of my healthier books from the shelves and this was one of them.  There are 120 all new recipes that are 350 calories or less and can be made in under 30 minutes. This really helps me on a work night and I have marked many recipes to try.

So far I’ve made the mushroom brown rice,

Mushrooms and Brown Rice
Mushrooms and Brown Rice

the roasted salmon & cherry tomato salad,

Roasted Salmon and Cherry Tomato Salad
Roasted Salmon and Cherry Tomato Salad

and Pan Fried Chicken Cutlets with Mushrooms and White Wine and all were delicious.

Pan Fried Chicken Cutlets with Mushrooms and White Wine
Pan Fried Chicken Cutlets with Mushrooms and White Wine

I like that nutritional information is included for all the recipes and that includes a sodium count which I’m trying to watch closely. There are a wide variety of recipes from salad meals, soup meals, and even recipes for the grill and dessert. There are recipes using pork, chicken, seafood, beef, meatless mains, and grains. There are time and money saving tips and ideas for watching calories when you decide to eat out. I’m looking forward to many more tasty, healthy meals from this book.

6 thoughts on “Review: Bobby Deen’s Everyday Eats

  1. I don’t think I’ve seen this book before. I’ll see if the library has it. Healthy weeknight recipes are always welcome. The mushrooms and brown rice look really good. What kind of mushrooms did you use?

    Like

  2. Surprisingly, I really liked this book. My library had a digital copy of it and there were quite a few recipes that I copied to try.

    Like

    • Kathy if you liked this one you might also like his other one From Mama’s Table to Mine I think is the title. I’ve also been cooking from it. Hoping to add a review of it soon.

      Like

Leave a Reply

