Review: Soul Food Love

http://images.randomhouse.com/cover/9780804137935?width=125&alt=no_cover_b4b.gif

Book Title: Soul Food Love
Book Author: Alice Randall and Caroline Randall Williams
Book Topic: Cooking – Soul Food
ISBN: 9780804137935

This is a very interesting book to read as well as cook from. You get to know five generations of the authors family and how food almost ruled their lives with unhealthy results, until finally the last generation learned how to make favorite foods healthier. This  book is very inspiring to someone like myself who is  trying to get healthier and I would highly recommend this to anyone else who is searching for recipes that are delicious but healthy.

Salmon Croquettes with Dill Sauce
Salmon Croquettes with Dill Sauce

The day the book arrived I read it from cover to cover.

Sweet Potato Skewers
Sweet Potato Skewers

Then I picked out several recipes and wrote out a grocery list.

Fiery Green Beans
Fiery Green Beans

The next night for supper I prepared three recipes from the book – Salmon Croquettes with Dill Sauce, Fiery Green Beans, and Sweet Potato Skewers. All were delicious.

My Supper
My Supper

Next I made the Spicy Pepper Chicken. I’ve always wanted to try Nashville Hot Chicken and the author says this is her version of that, roasted instead of fried. This was very spicy but delicious. I have several more recipes marked to try and will be spending more time with this book.

Spicy Pepper Chicken
Spicy Pepper Chicken

More Info

Author Bio

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

4 thoughts on “Review: Soul Food Love

  1. Thanks for a great review, Joan. This sounds like a very nice cookbook. I also like cookbooks that introduce the author and the recipes and tell a story. Does it have a lot of photos of finished dishes in it? I’m looking forward to hearing about how you like these two recipes: Warm Onion and Rosemary Salad and A Cold Hot Radish Salad. They sound interesting. I love radishes especially, and there are too few recipes for them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • My pleasure Nancy. Yes there are a nice amount of photos of finished dishes. I’ll be sure and let you know what I think of the two recipes. We love radishes too and they are one of Dexter’s favorite veggies. I love it when I find new ways since as you said there are too few recipes for them. Thaks for stopping by.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

