Review: Lighten up, y’all

http://images.randomhouse.com/cover/9781607745730?width=125&alt=no_cover_b4b.gif

Classic Southern Recipes Made Healthy and Wholesome
Author: Virginia Willis
ISBN: 978-1-60774-573-0
Category: Cooking – American – Southern States

This book speaks to my southern roots. I’m thrilled that voice is in a lighter tone, since these days that’s the way I need to eat. I loved Virginia Willis’ first two cookbooks, and this one is fast becoming a favorite as well. It’s a bonus that the recipes are not only lightened up but delicious. I agree with Virginia when she says “the keys to healthier eating are balance and moderation, not denial”

Pulled Pork Tenderloin with Sassy Slaw
Pulled Pork Tenderloin with Sassy Slaw

I love that basic nutritional information is included. The only part I miss though is the sodium count. Recipes included in the book are from starters to main dishes and everything in between. Since most southerners have a bit of a sweet tooth – sweet indulgences are also included.

Pulled Pork Tenderloin with Red Pepper Vinegar Sauce
Pulled Pork Tenderloin with Red Pepper Vinegar Sauce

I made the Pulled Pork Tenderloin with Red Pepper Vinegar Sauce and the Sassy Slaw for supper tonight. They were both delicious. I tried serving it on wheat bread for myself and buns for my husband and son but I put a little too much sauce on it and ended up eating mine in a bowl with the slaw and found it was delicious like that.

Sassy Slaw
Sassy Slaw

I have many more recipes marked to try and tomorrow night is chicken on a stick.

Author’s website  http://www.virginiawillis.com/

Author Bio

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

6 thoughts on “Review: Lighten up, y’all

Leave a Reply

